Nice Boot

watchtheice

With all the cold weather we’ve been having, the sidewalks have become a danger zone.  People everywhere are slipping, falling, sliding, and generally walking very slowly instead of the usual fast pace New York is known for.  Winter boot sales are way up.  Which brings me to the unveiling of my latest acquisition.

IMG_3762

Yes a “beautiful” genuine boot/cast for a fractured foot.  Just over 3 weeks ago I fractured the 4th and 5th metatarsal bones and strained the ligament along my left foot.  Since the injury I’ve been trying to come up with the perfect story to explain how it happened.

sledfall

I could say I went sledding in Central Park and had a particularly awesome run that ended badly.

ankle1

Let’s see, I was training for the Olympics, but I haven’t been ice skating since high school.

slip2

The common sense reason is I slipped on the ice,  so that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

I’m about half way through a 4-6 week recovery.  Hopefully the bones are healing as they should and I can travel in March as planned.  This may explain why I haven’t been posting pictures of all this wonderful snow we’ve been having.  Believe me I’ve wanted to go to Central Park and walk around to see the beautiful trees and landscape.   My husband says it’s a mixed blessing because I may be saving myself from a more serious injury.  I have been reading more books and catching up on movies.

Thank goodness for the Olympics!!!!  I have to say I am loving Tara Lipinski and Johnny Weir in the afternoon with their fashion sense, and their great insight and commentary for figure skating!!!    I mean, COME ON!!!  This is awesome!  It’s like he can’t have the skaters on the ice outshine him.  I love that Tara ups her game today with the flowers in her hair.  It’s like they color coordinated their outfits.

Johnny-Weir-Fashion-Diary-Instagram-Sochi-Olympics-2014-01  Screen_Shot_2014-02-11_at_10.37.33_AM

More to come as the snow falls and the Olympics continue.

Leave a Reply

